Bollywood Reacts To Naming Of Islands After Capt Vikram Batra & 20 Others By PM Modi

On Monday, Prime Minister Modi renamed 21 Andaman and Nicobar islands after the Param Vir Chakra recipients. In addition, on the 126th birthday of India’s legendary freedom fighter, Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, PM Modi unveiled the model for a memorial that would be built in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands and claimed that it would inspire people to feel patriotic. 

Prime Minister Modi stated in his virtual address, “Andaman is the land where the Tricolour was hoisted for the first time and where the first government of an independent India was established.” Today marks Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose’s birthday. “PM Modi stated that the nation observes Parakram Diwas on this day. He added that the Andaman and Nicobar Islands people would feel even more patriotic thanks to Neta ji’s memorial. I pay tribute to the Param Vir Chakra Award winners and Neta Ji. 

After the model’s virtual inauguration, PM Narendra Modi gave a speech in which he renamed 21 islands in the UT of Andaman and Nicobar Island after the Param Vir Chakra recipients.

The Param Vir Chakra award is India’s highest military decoration and recognizes distinguished acts of bravery in times of war. Ajay Devgn, Akshay Kumar, Suniel Shetty, and Sidharth Malhotra thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi for naming 21 islands in Andaman and Nicobar after recipients of the Param Vir Chakra.

Suneil Shetty expressed gratitude to prime minister Narendra Modi for recognizing the “true heroes of our nation.”

I am grateful, Hon. On the 126th anniversary of the great Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s birth, PM @narendramodi ji renamed 21 islands in #AndamanNicobar in honor of the 21 ParamVirChakra awardees, the real heroes of our nation. So pleased! # On Twitter, he wrote, “JaiHind #ParakramDivas.”

“What a remarkable way to honor Param Vir Chakra winners,” Akshay Kumar wrote on Twitter. Paying tribute to their bravery and sacrifices. #IndiaHonoursParamveers.” 

Ajay Devgn said that the decision guarantees that future generations will be inspired by the sacrifices these soldiers made.

“The choice of naming an island after Capt. Manoj Kumar Pandey (Param Vir Chakra) promises that the example of supreme sacrifice he set for our motherland will continue to inspire future generations. On Twitter, Ajay Devgan wrote while thanking prime minister Narendra Modi. 

The news gave Sidharth Malhotra, who plays Captain Vikram Batra in the biopic “Shershaah,” goosebumps, he said.

“The fact that an island in Andaman & Nicobar has been given the name Capt. Vikram Batra gives me goosebumps! Being able to witness his performance on screen fills me with pride. Sidharth tweeted he adds that the action taken by prime minister Narendra Modi ensures that Shershaah will continue to exist forever. 

The islands are named after brave soldiers who received the Param Vir Chakra Major Somnath Sharma; Subedar and Hony Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, MM; 2nd Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane; Nayak Jadunath Singh; Company Havildar Major Piru Singh; Capt GS Salaria; Lieutenant Colonel (then Major) Dhan Singh Thapa; Subedar Joginder Singh; Major Shaitan Singh; CQMH. Abdul Hamid; Lt Col Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore; Lance Naik Albert Ekka and Major Hoshiar Singh.

Other names are 2nd Lt. Arun Khetrapal; Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon; Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran; Naib Subedar Bana Singh; Captain Vikram Batra; Lt Manoj Kumar Pandey; Subedar Major (then Rifleman) Sanjay Kumar; and Subedar Major Retd (Honorary Captain) Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav.

Share on: