Chidambaram Slams BJP, Asks “Where Is The FIR?” On RaGa’s Questioning By ED

Former union minister and senior Congress leader P Chidambaram has lashed out at the Bharatiya Janata Party over Rahul Gandhi’s questioning by the Enforcement Directorate in the National Herald case. In a series of Tweets, Chidambaram quoted, 

“Will the learned spokespersons of the BJP please answer the following questions: 

1. Which is the ‘scheduled offence’ under PMLA that has triggered an investigation by ED?

2. Which police agency has registered an FIR in respect of the scheduled offence?”

“3. Where is the FIR? Will you please show us a copy of the FIR? 

4. Did you know that absent a scheduled offence and absent an FIR, the ED has no jurisdiction to start an investigation under PMLA?”

Yesterday, Chidambaram and other senior Congress leaders were arrested by the Delhi police while protesting against the Central govt on Rahul Gandhi’s questioning by ED. As per the media reports, P Chidambaram suffered a rib fracture after he was allegedly pushed by the police officials. 

“When three big, burly policemen crash into you, you are lucky to get away with a suspected hairline crack! 

Doctors have said that if there is a hairline crack, it will heal by itself in about 10 days

I am fine and I will go about my work tomorrow”

The Congress workers and leaders protested in Delhi as well as many other states against the BJP and Central govt over Rahul Gandhi’s questioning, alleging the govt of misusing the Central agencies to muzzle the voice of the opposition. Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot, Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel, Rajya Sabha MP Pramod Tiwari, P Chidambaram and many more Congress leaders were detained by the police officials yesterday while protesting against the Central government in the national capital. 

While union minister Smriti Irani took a dig at the Congress party, adding that the protesters are to save ₹2,000 crore of the Gandhis, P Chidambaram’s latest tweets questioning the BJP spokespersons is seen as a reply to Smriti Irani as well as the other BJP leaders.

Share on: