Goa Political Crisis: 6 Of The 11 Congress MLAs To Join The BJP

After Maharashtra, the troubles for the grand-old-party seem to be increasing in Goa. As per the sources, as many as 6 of its 11 MLAs have already decided to join the saffron party. If just one more MLA goes, the anti defection law won’t apply then, resulting in a huge split in the Goa Congress.

Last night, the Congress party directed the Rajya Sabha MP Mukul Wasnik to rush to Goa and handle the crisis, but that doesn’t seems to be working. As per the media reports, former chief minister and most heavyweight Congress MLA Digambar Kamat may resign today from both, the party as well as the post of MLA. 

Digambar Kamat used to be in the BJP long ago, then joined the Congress Party and became the CM. In the political space, he’s also known as the “Sharad Pawar” of Goa. People often say, in Goa, political power and Mr. Kamat can’t be separated from each other. 

On the other hand, the party leadership has also removed Michael Lobo, from the post of leader of the opposition. This isn’t the first time that the Congress party is going through a split in Goa, three years back, senior leader Chandrakant Babu Kavlekar, along with 10 MLAs, joined the BJP. 

Meanwhile, in today’s scenario, if the number of rebel MLAs goes to 7, they would be able to save themselves from the anti defection law and this would turn out to be a biggest jolt for the Congress Party, bringing its numbers down from 11 to just 4. Though the party is trying its best, but it doesn’t seem to be working. 

This, moreover in the wake of the upcoming presidential elections, is seen as a huge setback for the grand-old-party, bringing more embarrassment to the opposition’s candidate Yashwant Sinha.

Share on: