Himachal: Polling For 68 Assembly Seats Today: Results On December 8

The voting for 68 assembly constituencies in Himachal Pradesh is ongoing today. Moreover, as per the media reports, that state recorded more than 5% voter turnout till now. However, it’s expected that this percentage would increase more in the coming hours. Including prime minister Narendra Modi, Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi, Aam Aadmi Party and all other parties and leaders have urged the people of Himachal to cast their votes.

• Will Himachal Change Its Trend This Time?

Himachal Pradesh is one of those States where there has been a trend of changing the government in every five years. Moreover, till 2017 the trend continued. However, this time, the opinions of several political analysts are divided. While some believe that Himachal would vote for a change now, the others believe that the BJP would break the trend and Jairam Thakur will again become chief minister.

However, with more than 20 rebels in the entire state amongst 68 assembly constituencies, troubles for the Bharatiya Janata Party seems to increase. Surprisingly, despite numerous efforts by the central leadership of BJP, most of these rebels didn’t step back. Similarly, more than 13 rebels of the Congress party are also contesting, some as independents and a few on the Aam Aadmi Party’s ticket. 

Also Read :Canada: Jalandhar’s Rajan Sawhney Becomes Immigration Minister Of Alberta!

Moreover, both political parties are facing numerous challenges. As per the latest opinion poll by ABP News, there may be a neck to neck contest between both the parties. ABP’s opinion poll predicted 31-39 seats for the BJP and 29-37 seats for Indian National Congress. However, for the Aam Aadmi Party, almost all opinion polls predicted 0-2 or 3 seats. 

While the BJP has already declared CM Jairam Thakur as it’s face again, for the Congress party, there is a bit of confusion. Notably, Mukesh Agnihotri, Pratibha Singh and Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu are the top contenders for chief ministerial post. However, as Pratibha Singh is already a sitting MP from Mandi, it’s believed that if Congress comes to power, either Mukesh Agnihotri or Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu would get the chance. 

Furthermore, the elections in Himachal Pradesh have turned out to be very interesting, where the main battle is clearly between the BJP and Congress, while the Aam Aadmi Party, as per the analysts, may win somewhere between 0 to 3 seats in the assembly of 68. However, the final results which are scheduled to be announced on December 8, will clear everything.

Share on: