NDA Candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar Defeats UPA’s Margaret Alva To Become The New Vice-President Of India

Mr. Jagdeep Dhankhar, the former governor of West Bengal, who was nominated as the National Democratic Alliance’s (NDA) candidate for the presidential polls, has easily defeated the joint opposition candidate Margaret Alva to become India’s 16th Vice-President of the country.

However, as per the numbers, the opposition’s candidate Margaret Alva had no chance to win. It was already clear that it would be an easy victory for the NDA. Now, Mr. Jagdeep Dhankhar is the new Vice President of India. 

Let us take you through the journey of Mr. Jagdeep Dhankhar:

Jagdeep Dhankhar, born on May 18, 1951, belongs to Rajasthan. He is a well known and experienced name in the Indian politics. He previously held the office of Governor of West Bengal and is now India’s newly elected Vice-President. 

He has a long experience working as a lawyer. In 1979, Dhankhar registered as an advocate with the Rajasthan Bar Council. He was appointed Senior Advocate by the High Court of Judicature for Rajasthan in the year 1990. Since 1990, Jagdeep Dhankhar had been practicing primarily in the apex court of India. 

He was designed as the senior-most designated advocate of the state till July 30, 2019, when he took oath as the governor of West Bengal. 

Apart from being a lawyer, he was associated with the Janata Dal and then the Bharatiya Janata Party. He served as a member of parliament from Jhunjhunu Lok Sabha constituency, Rajasthan (1989–91) representing the Janata Dal. He has also served as a Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) from Kishangarh assembly, Rajasthan from 1993–98. 

Under the leadership of former Prime Minister Chandra Shekhar in the Janata Dal govt, Jagdeep Dhankhar held the position of Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs. 

Also Read : Punjab: Government To Organise 2-Month Long ‘Punjab Khed Mela’ With 28 events! Here’s All You Need To Know

Now the Vice-President of India

As per the media reports, Jagdeep Dhankhar has bagged 500 votes, while the opposition’s candidate Margaret Alva was able to get less than 200 votes. Amongst the total of 780 MPs (including Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha), 725 casted their voter till 5 PM today, means, more than 50 MPs didn’t cast their votes in this election.

With this, Mr. Jagdeep Dhankhar has been elected as the new Vice-President of India.

Share on: