President Droupadi Murmu Confers 54 Padma Awards 2023

At a Civil Investiture Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, President Droupadi Murmu she has presented 54 Padma Awards for the year 2023. She awarded 47 Padma Shris, three Padma Vibhushans, and four Padma Bhushans.

The Padma Awards—also known as the Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri—are among the highest civilian honors bestowed by the country. These awards were established in 1954 and are presented annually to individuals who have distinguished themselves through distinguished and exceptional service in a variety of fields and disciplines, including art, literature and education, sports, medicine, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, civil service, trade and industry, and others.

106 Padma awards, adding three duo cases (in a duo case, award is counted as one), have been approved by the President for this year. Six Padma Vibhushans, nine Padma Bhushan, and 91 Padma Shri Awards are on the list. Women make up as many as 19 of the recipients, and the list also includes two foreigners.

In the field of public affairs, President Murmu presented S M Krishna with the Padma Vibhushan. In the field of architecture, Prof. Balkrishna Doshi was also awarded the Padma Vibhushan (posthumously).

Mulayam Singh Yadav, the former CM of Uttar Pradesh, was honored posthumously with the Padma Vibhushan. President Droupadi Murmu presented the award to Akhilesh Yadav, Mulayam’s son and leader of the Samajwadi Party.

Sudha Murty, the author and wife of Narayana Murthy, the founder of Infosys, was awarded the Padma Bhushan for social work. At the magnificent Durbar Hall of the Rashtrapati Bhavan, Murty’s daughter Akshata, spouse of British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak, was sitting in the front row next to S Jaishankar, the External Affairs Minister and other dignitaries.

President Murmu presented music composer MM Keeravani with the Padma Shri. He is famously known for his work on the song “Naatu Naatu.” The song by Keeravani previously won an Oscar.

At a ceremony that took place at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, physicist Deepak Dhar, known for his long research career in statistical physics, novelist S L Bhyrappa, well-known playback singer Vani Jairam, and Vedic scholar Tridandi Chinna Jeeyar Swamiji were awarded the Padma Bhushan.

President Murmu presented the Padma Shri to Anand Kumar, the founder of the educational program Super 30. The Padma Shri was also given to Raveena Tandon, an actress.

In addition, the Padma Shri was presented by President Murmu to Chintalapati Venkatapathi Raju, Bandi Ramakrishna Reddy, Mangala Kanta Roy, Manoranjan Sahu, Kota Satchidananda Sastry, Gurcharan Singh, G. Veluchamy, Karma Wangchu, Laxman Singh, Prakash Chandra Sood, Neihunuo Sorhie, S. Sub.

The ceremony was attended by several dignitaries, like Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, and Information and Broadcasting Minister Anurag Singh Thakur.

Share on: