Punjab: Mann Govt’s First Cabinet Expansion Today, 5-6 New Ministers To Take Oath At 5 PM

Punjab chief minister Bhagwant Mann, after the defeat of the Aam Aadmi Party in the recent Sangurur by-poll, met party convenor and Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal. As per the speculations, Mann and Kejriwal had a discussion on the cabinet expansion in the Punjan government. The Aam Aadmi Party has a strong majority of 92 MLAs in the assembly of 117 in Punjab. 

As per the media reports, the new ministers may include Fauja Singh Sarari, Anmol Gagan Mann, Dr Inderbir Singh Nijjar and two more MLAs. This is seen as a major step of Mann government to harmonize accordingly. Being a prominent leader from the Rai Sikh community, Fauja Singh’s name is on the top of the list.

Fauja Singh has also thanked the leadership of the Aam Aadmi Party for considering him to serve as a minister, in a video released on his social media platform. In the video, he said he received a call and was told to be present for the cabinet expansion. Meanwhile, Anmol Gagan Mann, the popular youth leader, will also be taking oath as a minister today evening. 

On the other hand, Dr Inderbir Singh Nijjar, the current president of Chief Khalsa Diwan, is the third in the list. Apart from these three, surprisingly, Amritsar East MLA Jeevjyot Kaur and Jagraon MLA Sarvjit Kaur Manuke are likely to be inducted as ministers in the Bhagwant Mann government.  The portfolios of some of the ministers may also witness a change.

Share on: