Sangrur By-poll: SAD (Amritsar)’s Simranjit Singh Mann’s Victory, Jolt To AAP In CM’s Bastion

The by-poll result for Sangrur Lok Sabha constituency was announced yesterday, which turned out to be a big jolt for the Aam Aadmi Party, moreover chief minister Bhagwant Mann in his bastion. Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar)’s candidate defeated AAP’s Gurmail Singh with a margin of 5,822 votes.

This is seen as a big jolt to CM Bhagwant Mann as Sangrur is his home constituency from where he secured victory in 2014 and 2019. Even CM Mann’s assembly constituency Dhuri comes under Sangrur. Though the margin of Simranjit Singh’s victory is very thin, but even the polling percentage was just around 48%. 

As per the data of the Election Commission of India, SAD (Amritsar) candidate Simranjit Singh Mann recieved a total of 2,53,154 votes, while AAP’s Gurmail Singh begged 2,47,332 votes. The other political parties are far behind these two. As per the data, Congress candidate Dalvir Singh Goldy begged just 79,668 votes, while BJP’s Kewal Singh Dhillon, the former Congress MLA, got just 66,298 votes.

These results came out as a big shock for Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal) as its candidate finished at number 5, even below the BJP who used to be an alliance partner with the Akali Dal. SAD (Badal)’s candidate Bibi Kamaldeep Kaur Rajoana was able to get only 44,428 votes with 6.25% of votes. Akali Dal finishing at 5, is seen as a big jolt for party chief and former deputy CM Sukhbir Singh Badal. 

Meanwhile the other two Lok Sabha seats where the by-elections were held, are UP’s Azamgarh and Rampur. Both the constituencies were a stronghold of Samajwadi Party, where Akhilesh Yadav and Azam Khan won in 2019, but this time, the BJP defeated the Samajwadi Party on both these constituencies. 

In Azamgarh, BJP candidate Dinesh Lal Yadav alias “Nirahua” defeated SP’s Dharmendra Yadav with a thin margin of 8,679 votes, while in Rampur, BJP’s Ghanshyam Lodhi defeated SP’s Mohd Asim Raza with a big margin of 42,192 votes. Losing both these strongholds is a big jolt for Samajwadi Party, moreover for Akhilesh Yadav because in the recent assembly elections, despite SP’s statewide defeat, almost all the assembly constituencies of these constituencies were won by the Samajwadi Party.

Share on: