Russian President Vladimir Putin declared martial law on Wednesday  in four regions of Ukraine.

The annexed Ukraine regions are– Luhansk, Donetsk, Zaporizhzhia  and Kherson.

"I signed a decree to introduce martial law in these four subjects of the Russian Federation," said Vladimir Putin during a national security council meeting.

After the council meeting, the Kremlin published a decree saying that martial law will be introduced in the regions from early Thursday.

Putin's announcement on martial law clearly means more powers to Kremlin-backed officials.

The decree will restrict movement in and out of eight regions adjoining Ukraine.

These include southern regions of Krasnodar, Belgorod, Bryansk, Voronezh, Kursk & Rostov and  Crimea & Sevastopol.

With the announcement of martial law, Putin said that more emergency powers will be given to the heads  of all regions of Russia.

“In the current situation, I consider it necessary to give additional powers  to heads of all Russian regions,”  said Putin.

The Russian President also ordered the establishment of a coordination committee to increase interaction between government agencies in dealing with the fighting in Ukraine.