After National ‘Shivir’ In Rajasthan, Congress To Hold State Level ‘Shivirs’ Across The Country On June 1-2

The AICC general secretary and chief spokesperson of the Congress party, Randeep Singh Surjewala, on Wednesday, said that the party will hold state-level “shivirs” across the country on June 1 and 2 to communicate the decisions of the “Udaipur Declaration” adopted after a three-day national “Chintan Shivir”. 

He further added, “similar conclaves will also be held at the district level on June 11 to send across the party’s message to the grassroot-level workers.” This major decision was taken at a meeting of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretaries and in-charges of various states at the party headquarters here over Tuesday and Wednesday to discuss the recommendations and decisions taken at the Udaipur Chintan Shivir. After the conclusion of the “Nav Sankalp Chintan Shivir” and the adoption of the “Udaipur Declaration”, under the guidance of the general secretary (organisation), all the in-charges and general secretaries of the Congress held deliberations and post these two days of discussions, certain decisions were taken, Surjewala said.

After facing a humiliating defeat in the recent assembly polls in 5 states, the grand old party is focusing on its revival from the grassroots to the national level. In the party’s Udaipur’s “nav sankalp shivir”, more than 400 leaders from across the country had reached and several major discussions were held on the roadmap of the party’s revival in the view of the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections.

The party leaders also decided that a three-day “Azadi Gaurav Yatra” shall be undertaken by all the district units between August 9 and August 15, where 75 people, in accordance with the 75th anniversary of India’s independence, will work permanently and hundreds and thousands will join them. The Youth Congress and the National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) will undertake the “Rozgar Do Yatra” and “we will be conferring with their leadership and the way forward will be decided at that point of time”, said Surjewala. Congress has also decided to create new departments: a public insight department, an election department, and an assessment and training department. 

It has decided that no one shall hold a party post for more than five years.

In this context, following the Udaipur Declaration, New Delhi DCC president Virender Kasana has submitted his resignation to Congress chief Sonia Gandhi.

Though, amidst this, the resignations of Hardik Patel in Gujarat, and youth MLA Ganesh Ghogara in Rajasthan, are seen as a jolt to the Congress party, especially in Gujarat where the assembly elections are to be held in November-December this year.

Share on: